Logo: University of Southern California

Faculty & Staff



  Mike Gruntman Professor and Chair; Associate Fellow, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA); Member (Academician), International Academy of Astronautics (IAA); spacecraft and space mission design, rocket propulsion, space physics, space sensors and instrumentation, space plasmas, history of rocketry and space
  David Barnhart Research Professor; Spacecraft design, bus architecture, mission concepts and testing
  Daniel Erwin Professor; Associate Fellow of American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA); Spacecraft propulsion, optics and optical instruments, kinetics of gases and plasmas
  Sergei Gimelshein Research Associate Professor; Computational fluid dynamics and hypersonic aerodynamics, spacecraft propulsion, laminar separated flows, plume flows, plume interactions and surface contamination, physics of molecular energy transfer, chemical reactions in gas phase and on the surface, and upper atmosphere radiation processes
  Paul Giuliano Lecturer (Boeing Satellite Development Center)  
   Gerald Hintz  Adjunct Professor (NASA-Jet Propulsion Laboratory); Orbital Mechanics
  Michael Kezirian Adjunct Associate Professor (Boeing - The Space Shuttle Program), Associate Fellow, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA); System Safety, Propulsion, Composite Overwrapped Pressure Vessel Design and Analysis, Spacecraft Dynamics and Fuel Slosh
  Joseph Kunc Professor; Fellow of American Physical Society (APS); Atomic and molecular interactions, transport of particles and radiation in non-equilibrium gases and plasmas, molecular dynamics, classical and statistical thermodynamics.
  Azad M. Madni Professor; Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE); Complex system analysis and design; complexity management; socio-technical systems; modeling and simulation; model based engineering; engineered resilient systems; integration of humans with adaptable systems; STEM education simulations/games.  
  E. Phillip Muntz
Professor Emeritus; Member of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE); Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA); Hypersonics, gas kinetics and plasmas, high performance materials, micromechanical devices, space science  
  Ryan Park Adjunct Associate Professor (NASA-Jet Propulsion Laboratory); Orbital Mechanics  
  Herbert Schorr Research Professor, Executive Director of USC Information Sciences Institiute (ISI), artificial intelligence, advanced computing systems, information technology  
  F. Stan Settles Professor; Member of National Academy of Engineering (NAE); Fellow of the Institute of Industrial Engineering (IIE); engineering management, integrated management and design, quality management, manufacturing for biomedical/biotechnical applications  
  Joseph Wang Associate Professor; Electric propulsion, space environment and spacecraft interactions, particle simulation algorithms for gases and plasmas, microfluidics  
  James Wertz Adjunct Professor (Microcosm); Space mission design  




            Mohamed Abid
  (NASA-Jet Propulsion Laboratory) Spacecraft Sensors
            TBD   Spacecraft Power Systems
            Oscar Alvarez-Salazar   (NASA-Jet Propulsion Laboratory) Spacecraft Structural Dynamics
            Bryan Cooley   (Aerospace Corporation) Spacecraft Dynamics
            Steve Matousek   (NASA-Jet Propulsion Laboratory) Remote Sensing
            Paul Giuliano
  (Boeing) Space Technology
            Keith D. Goodfellow   (Lockheed Martin) Advanced Spacecraft Propulsion
            Troy D. Goodson   (NASA-Jet Propulsion Laboratory) Spacecraft Dynamics
            Lisa Hill   (Space Systems Integration) Spacecraft Design
            Kyle McDonald
  (NASA-Jet Propulsion Laboratory) Remote Sensing
            Enrico Paolini         (University of Bologna) Spacecraft Communications
            Robert Parker      
  (Hughes Space Communications, retired) Spacecraft Power Systems
            G. P. Purohit
  (Aerospace Corporation) Spacecraft Thermal Control and Propulsion
            Anita Sengupta
  (NASA-Jet Propulsion Laboratory) Spacecraft Systems
            Madhu Thangavelu   (AAA Visioneering) Space Systems Architecting
            Kent Tobiska   (Space Environment Technologies) Space Environment
            Brett Williams    
  (Raytheon) Spacecraft Strength of Materials

Dell Cuason Department Administrator
Linda Ly Business Budget Technician
Hayley Peltz Student Services Advisor