Mike Gruntman

Professor and Chair
Associate Fellow, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA); Member (Academician), International Academy of Astronautics (IAA); spacecraft and space mission design, rocket propulsion, space physics, space sensors and instrumentation, space plasmas, history of rocketry and space

David Barnhart

Research Professor, Director of SERC
Spacecraft design, bus architecture, mission concepts and testing

Barry Boehm

Distinguished Professor of Computer Science and TRW Professor in Software Engineering

Dan Erwin

Associate Fellow of American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA); Spacecraft propulsion, optics and optical instruments, kinetics of gases and plasmas

Sergei Gimelshein

Research Associate Professor
Computational fluid dynamics and hypersonic aerodynamics, spacecraft propulsion, laminar separated flows, plume flows, plume interactions and surface contamination, physics of molecular energy transfer, chemical reactions in gas phase and on the surface, and upper atmosphere radiation processes

Gerald Hintz

Adjunct Professor
NASA-Jet Propulsion Laboratory: Orbital Mechanics

Michael Kezirian

Adjunct Associate Professor
Boeing: The Space Shuttle Program; Associate Fellow, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA); System Safety, Propulsion, Composite Overwrapped Pressure Vessel Design and Analysis, Spacecraft Dynamics and Fuel Slosh

Berok Khoshnevis

Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering
Automated Construction; Computer-automated fabrication processes; Robotics and autonomous systems; Computer simulation

Joseph Kunc

Fellow of American Physical Society (APS); Atomic and molecular interactions, transport of particles and radiation in non-equilibrium gases and plasmas, molecular dynamics, classical and statistical thermodynamics

Azad Madni

Professor, Director of SAE
Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE); Complex system analysis and design; complexity management; socio-technical systems; modeling and simulation; model based engineering; engineered resilient systems; integration of humans with adaptable systems; STEM education simulations/games

E. Phillip Muntz

Professor Emeritus
In Memoriam
Member of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE); Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA); Hypersonics, gas kinetics and plasmas, high performance materials, micromechanical devices, space science.

Ryan Park

Adjunct Associate Professor
NASA-Jet Propulsion Laboratory: Orbital Mechanics

Anita Sengupta

Adjunct Research Associate Professor
NASA-Jet Propulsion Laboratory

F. Stan Settles

Professor Emeritus
Member of National Academy of Engineering (NAE); Fellow of the Institute of Industrial Engineering (IIE); engineering management, integrated management and design, quality management, manufacturing for biomedical/biotechnical applications

Kent Tobiska

Adjunct Professor
Space Environment Technician

Joseph Wang

Electric propulsion, space environment and spacecraft interactions, particle simulation algorithms for gases and plasmas, microfluidics

James Wertz

Adjunct Professor
President of Microcosm: Space mission design



Mohamed Abid

NASA-Jet Propulsion Laboratory: Spacecraft Sensors

Oscar Alvarez-Salazar

NASA-Jet Propulsion Laboratory: Spacecraft Structural Dynamics

Rodney Anderson

NASA-Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Bryan Cooley

Aerospace Corporation: Spacecraft Dynamics

Bruce Cordell

21st Century Waves: Humans Spaceflight

Don Edberg

Cal Poly Pomona: Space Launch Vehicles

Anthony Freeman

NASA – Jet Propulsion Laboratory: Remote Sensing from Space

Paul Giuliano

NASA – Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Keith D. Goodfellow

Aerojet – Rocketdyne: Spacecraft Propulsion

Troy D. Goodson

NASA-Jet Propulsion Laboratory: Spacecraft Dynamics

Lisa Hill

Space Systems Integration: Spacecraft Design

Steve Matousek

NASA-Jet Propulsion Laboratory: Remote Sensing

Leila Meshkat

NASA – Jet Propulsion Laboratory: Space System Reliability

Robert Parker

NGC (retired): Space Power Systems

G. P. Purohit

Aerospace Corporation: Spacecraft Thermal Control and Propulsion

Madhu Thangavelu

AAA Visioneering: Space Systems Architecting

Brett Williams

Raytheon: Spacecraft Strength of Materials

Sidney Yuan

Aerospace Corporation: Space Cryogenic Systems


Dell Cuason

Department Administrator

RRB 228
213-821-5817 (tel)
213-821-5819 (fax)

John Amrine

Senior Comp. Scientist

Marlyn Lat


RRB 232
213-740-4009 (tel)

Linda Ly

Business Budget Technician

RRB 230

Hayley Peltz

Student Services Advisor

RRB 223